Do you know of an outstanding teacher or educator 

who goes the extra mile for students?


How about a volunteer who quietly contributes 
to Skyview Middle School?

Or a volunteer that goes above and beyond?


Take a moment to think about the people who might be good candidates for any of the local PTA awards.
Use the form below to confidentially nominate for the awards by Friday, April 23rd. 


Awards and Descriptions

Golden Acorn Award:

Recognizes an individual volunteer who has given outstanding volunteer service to all children in the school community. This acknowledges service by an individual "above and beyond" a particular job description.

Outstanding Educator Award:

Recognizes an individual educator who goes beyond the normal expectations of their jobs to make the learning environment fun, beneficial, and challenging for students.

Outstanding Advocate Award:

Recognizes an individual for continued and dedicated service to all children and a demonstrated commitment to helping create strong policies relating to the health, welfare, safety, and education of children and youth.

Lifetime Membership Award:
The purpose of the Honorary Lifetime Membership award is to recognize an individual who has contributed significantly to a PTA at the local unit, council, or state level. This award can be given by a PTA unit, council, or region.

Congratulations Previous Winners


Golden Acorn:

2020 - Hanisha Bakshani

2019 - Karen Cohen

2018 - Casey Stark & Pat Williams

Outstanding Educator:

2020 - John Moen & Christen McCool

2019 - Lori Hardwick & Nicole Richardson

2018 - Kimberly Reagan & Lindsey Yates

Outstanding Advocate:

2020 - Dawn Mark

2019 - Brandi Doyle

2018 - Gini Scott


Note that the current year Awards Committee includes the prior year winners!


Nominating Process 

Complete our online google nomination form


Award nominations are due on April 23rd, 2021.

There is no limit for the number of nominations submitted per person!



Contact the Awards Committee Chair, Barby Taheri.

Awards Committee Members**:
Barby Taheri, Christen McCool, John Moen, Dawn Mark, Hanisha Bakshani & Donna Fischer

Help us Select the Award Winners!

** Per our PTA Standing Rules, we need a PTA member (who is not on our board) to help sort through the nominees and decide on our winners this year! If you are interested, please contact Barby Taheri.

Standing rule #33 states:

"The Awards Committee will be established each year at a membership meeting. The committee shall consist of the previous year’s winners, a board member and at minimum one general member. In case of a previous winner being unavailable a substitution may be made at the discretion of the executive committee. Committee members are not eligible for an award. Awards are presented at a spring membership meeting. This committee may award Golden Acorn, Outstanding Educator, Outstanding Advocate and Lifetime memberships."

(Find all standing rules.)